1208 : Ducommun Girod, c. 1890

Antique 6 Bell Music Box by Ducommun Girod, c. 1875


A nice, bright-sounding antique music box made by Ducommun Girod of Geneva, Switzerland in c. 1875. 

The movement has been serviced and features 6 bells struck by birds-in-flight strikers, and plays 6 tunes including ‘Blue Danube’, ‘La Donna e Mobile’ from Rigoletto, and Offenbach’s ‘La Perichole’ (featured in the video), as detailed on the replacement tunesheet. We should note that unfortunately the pinning of the final tune in the program (Archer's 'Dream of Tyrol') is incomplete and so this tune plays rather sparsely. The other five tunes, however, have a very good sound.

This is housed in a magnificent inlaid rosewood case with beautiful motifs to the lid and front as well as chequered borders and inlays to the sides. 

The size is also compact, making this a very agreeable antique music box.

Width: 20” / 51cm
Height: 10 ½” / 27cm
Depth: 10 ½” / 27cm
[current-page:title] , [current-page:title] , [current-page:title] , [current-page:title] , [current-page:title] , [current-page:title] , [current-page:title] , [current-page:title]